A few years ago, out of boredom, I searched my name on Facebook. My first and last name together yielded an embarrassing number of namesakes and I wasn’t even on the first page 😱. I realized then that I wasn’t as special as I thought with so many people with the same name πŸ˜’. I should have learned my lesson but apparently I didn’t, hence (…there’s that darn word again) this post. I turned 31 this year and to my surprise my mom called one day and informed me that an aunt told her that she had asked “some people” to pray for me and they had informed her that another aunt in the village is the reason I am not married please excuse me while I roll on the floor laughing πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

I was shocked. These are stories you see in Nigerian movies or you hear about from “razz” people. Surely I am too “posh” and my extended family, although “less posh”, but surely posh enough not to come up with this line of thinking. Well obviously, I am not posh at all and a few months ago, an uncle on my fathers side called promising to send me prayer points that I must pray without ceasing..until perhaps the day the proverbial “He” proposes. In fact he called me last month to find out if I had been praying “his prayer points” and if I had received any “revelations” in the form of a dream. I swear I’m not making this upπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. 

I am grateful, for lack of a better word, for all their prayers and concerns but I would much rather channel the prayer energy to my hammeringπŸ€‘..I owe my mother a hummer abeg! Marriage is one of those things that I am confident would happen at the right time. For me, the end result isn’t a wedding but what comes after. I want to be happy, really happy, and until I am convinced that someone would add to my happiness and not take away from it, I’d much rather be single and flirtatious as I am currently being with a tall glass of water I met recentlyπŸ˜‰. Marriage is meant to be till death us part so I am happy to wait for a man, like me, who is honest, open and willing to go the distance. Relationships are hard enough, I need me someone that will be committed to the programme.

So, to all the people waiting for me to get married or to see who I will marry, don’t worry your expectations will not be cut short πŸ™πŸΎ

xoxo

Leave a Reply

