I took a one week break from work to sleep, unpack in my new apartment and laze about the house..in no particular order. Power was restored about 4am this morning. I woke up at about 11:30am..don’t judge me.. and by 1:30pm, the power was out. From the moment I woke up, I had it at the back of my mind that a power outage was imminent. I turned on the water heater to ensure that I would have hot bathing water. I ironed to ensure that I had something to wear to a movie in the evening with a friend. I watched tv guilt free instead of doing house chores knowing fully well that very soon there would be no power. I set reminders on shows I wanted to watch having it at the back of my mind that I might not get to watch these shows. The power eventually went out and although annoyed, I thought to myself, at least they kept it for long today.

It’s absolutely sad that a basic necessity like power is something one has to pray and hope for in a country like Nigeria, the giant of Africa. One of the reasons I moved house recently was that on the ride home everyday, I found myself praying, not only that there would be power when I got home, but that the voltage would be high enough for my fridge to work. I have a few questions for the Ministry of Power; What is the problem? What is the long term solution? What can we do now? Alas, I expect to be told that it is a complicated situation and I wouldn’t understand and that seems to be an answer that the average Nigerian is willing to accept. Heck! I have gone a few days without power and my closing argument has always been, hopefully they’ll restore power tomorrow. As I write, power has been restored and I am thrilled but I know that it will be gone soon, as easily as it came, but I will tell me mom later today when we speak, Nepa tried today o! We had light for a long time.

Am I angry that there is no power? Of course. Am I angry enough to do something about it? Yes. What am I going to do about it? Buy a generator and an inverter. Sigh! The problem with Nigerians is that we are indignant but never indignant enough to demand a change. It’s always a case of “who will bell the cat?” and no one is about to be the one. But perhaps that’s the beauty of being Nigerian, we are a hopeful people and no matter how bad a situation is we always smile through our suffering and say, it is well!

My sincere prayer is that someone will one day rise to the occasion and bell the proverbial cat so it becomes indeed well for our beautiful country.

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Diary of an Angry Nigerian Woman: Suffering and smiling

  1. Very short and nice piece, and its just so beautifully describe the light issues we …… (well b4 i could finish this statement, NEPA took the light)

Leave a Reply

