image

I was watching TV the other day and a Did You Know? fact came up on the screen. It was something seemingly ridiculous like Aurophobia is the fear of gold and it struck me as weird but that’s the thing about phobias, it’s weird to everyone else but you.

Below is an A – Z list of phobias you didn’t need to know about but heck, no knowledge is wasted.

Ablutophobia – Fear of washing or bathing. Go figure!

Barophobia – Fear of gravity. How is that even possible?

Cibophobia – Fear of food. Huh?!

Didaskaleinophobia – Fear of going to school. I bet we’ve all had this phobia at some point in our lives. I know I have πŸ˜€

Eosophobia – Fear of dawn or daylight. Seriously?!

Frigophobia – Fear of cold or cold things. Stick ’em up! I’ve got a can of cold coca-cola and I’m not afraid to use it πŸ˜€

Gamophobia – Fear of marriage. Now, this I understand πŸ™‚

Hippopotomonstrosesquipedaliophobia – Fear of long words. Whoever came up with the name for this phobia is such a meanie! πŸ˜€

Ithyphallophobia – Fear of seeing, thinking about or having an erect penis. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Judeophobia – Fear of Jews. For heaven’s sake, why?

Koinoniphobia – Fear of rooms. Whatever for?!

Logophobia – Fear of words. Spoken or written?! I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around this.

Methyphobia – Fear of alcohol. Don’t knock it till you try it πŸ˜›

Nomatophobia – Fear of names. For reals?!

Optophobia – Fear of opening one’s eyes. Oh puh-leeez!!

Pantophobia – Fear of everything. That can’t be good!

Q – No data on phobias that start with the letter Q

Rupophobia – Fear of dirt. Hmmmmm!

Spacephobia – Fear of outer space. I wonder why especially if you’ve never been to outer space.

Thaasophobia – Fear Of sitting. Wow!

Urophobia – Fear of urine or urinating. I wonder what alternatives to urinating exist.

Vestiphobia – Fear of clothing. Oh, to be naked and free.

Walloonphobia – Fear of the Walloons. I wonder why.

Xanthophobia – Fear of the colour yellow or the word yellow. Can someone explain why?

Y – No data on phobias that start with the letter Y.

Z – No data phobias that start with the letter Z.

(Source: http://phobialist.com)

I might have made light of these phobias but trust me, phobias are real and more so for the persons experiencing them. Take me for instance, I am terribly terrified of cockroaches. It’s called Katsaridaphobia. I have, on occasion, obtained cuts and bruises while trying to get away from a roach. And there’s my friend D who literally jumps scared when he sees a mouse (musophobia). He calms down only after his wife has gotten rid of it. In his defense, he says he can kill a lion for his wife. I wonder when that “skill” will come in handy πŸ˜€

It would be nice to hear from my followers. Kindly drop your phobias in the comments section.

xoxo

One thought on “Did You Know ?

Leave a Reply

