image Has anyone else ever wondered why it’s easier to do the wrong thing and the things that are especially bad for you always hold a lot of appeal? A typical example is with chocolate. Both dark and white chocolate are displayed side by side in supermarkets but while the former is healthy and leaves a bitter aftertaste, the latter (my personal favourite) is very yummy and yet it’s not exactly chocolate because it does not contain cocoa powder but has more sugar and fat. Eating white chocolate isn’t exactly a sin depending on how you look at it so let’s also take a look at the proverbial 7 deadly sins.

  1. Greed also known as avarice, cupidity, or covetousness, is the inordinate/insatiable desire to possess wealth, material goods, or objects of abstract value with the intention to keep it for one’s self, far beyond the dictates of basic survival and comfort.

Example: Two months ago I purchased 5 pairs of shoes. This week, I saw 2 pairs of shoes I would like to purchase. Next week, if I see shoes that I like, I’d probably buy them. Is that so bad?

  1. Sloth, an outright refusal or merely a carelessness in the performance of one’s obligations.

Example: I spent last weekend in bed. I wasn’t ill or anything, I just didn’t do house chores or any thing productive. I only ate, watched tv and napped. Was that such a terrible thing to do?

  1. Pride refers to an inflated sense of one’s personal status or accomplishments.

Example: I’m a bit snobbish when it comes to food cooked by other people. I always think that I am better cook. Is that too vain?

  1. Lust powerful psychological force producing intense wanting for an object, or circumstance fulfilling the emotion.

Example: Idris Elba is divorced, has had one marriage annulled and his current girlfriend recently had a baby. I don’t know whether it’s his british accent, his impressive 6ft 2.75 inch frame, his dashing smile or that he perfectly fits the tall, dark and handsome profile, but I would certainly like to take him home to mama. Am I in lust or in love?

  1. Wrath or anger, usually associated with violence, violent reaction, or acting out.

Example: A friend back stabbed me, bad mouthed me and said some really nasty stuff to my face and as payback I A guy dragged my emotions through the wringer and as payback I Truth is, I’m not a vengeful person. Vengeance is mine says the Lord. Enough said!

  1. Envy is an emotion which “occurs when a person lacks another’s superior quality, achievement, or possession and either desires it or wishes that the other lacked it”.

Example: My friend Bee has been the same dress size since high school, a UK 6. Yours truly recently lost about 5 kg and became a UK 10, a few months after, I’m back to my previous weight and dress size. Since I can’t remain a size 10, I would feel better if Bee were a size 14. Is that so bad?

  1. Gluttony, to gulp down or swallow, means over-indulgence and over-consumption of food, drink, or wealth items to the point of extravagance or waste.

Example: I love food. I love to cook food and eat food and watch food on tv. I must confess that more than once I’ve had a little too much to eat. I usually empty a box of cookies in 2 days, a bottle of baileys in about 3 nights and you don’t want to get me started on my love for moist cakes with delicious buttercream. Am I a glutton?

I don’t have the answers to any of the questions above but as silly or funny as my examples might have been, they just remind me that some times it’s easy to cross over from harmless fun to ‘deadly sin’. I was inspired to write this post because I made a mistake. I thought I was above a certain temptation but surprise surprise, I’m human and limited in what I can do of my own strength.

The Good News:

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him. Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe stands condemned already because he has not believed in the name of God’s one and only Son” (John 3:16-18).

“‘Come now, let us reason together,’ says the LORD. ‘Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red as crimson, they shall be like wool” (Isaiah 1:18).

What more can one as for? The grace is available through Jesus Christ. Say this prayer if like me you can’t do it all on your own:

“Father, I come humbly, as a little child, asking you to forgive my sins. I know that your Son Jesus Christ died in agony at Calvary that I may be saved from my sins. I know that He died and rose again. Help me to always remember the suffering our Lord did on the Cross. May I live a life of victory pleasing to you. In Jesus’ name we pray, amen.”

(This wonderful prayer came from http://www.allaboutgod.com and their post about the seven deadly sins. They reminded me about the good news too. I found the website while working on this post. You should check them out).

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Take heed lest you fall…

  1. First off I want to say great blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing. I have had trouble clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out. I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or hints? Thank you!|掲示板}

    1. First of all, my sincere apologies for taking so long to reply.

      I completely understand what you mean. What helps me is “pre-planning” for each post. Whenever I have a random thought that is post worthy, I create a word document on my phone and write it down. I do this, sometimes, several times in 1 day. Sometimes a one liner and other times whole paragraphs. My phone contains a number of half written posts. When I then decide to put up a post, I just scroll through the draft posts, select one I would like to finish up and then I do just that.

      I hope this helps. Thanks a lot for checking out my blog and taking time out to comment.

Leave a Reply

