Image

For the first time ever, I’m spending the holidays alone…don’t groan, it’s not a bad thing. I would usually spend the holidays with my mom in Kaduna or in Abuja or wherever we decided to go (sounds exotic right?!…it’s usually either Jos or Lagos o…lol!) but this year, she’s in Port Harcourt and I’m in Abuja and I can’t say that I’m not having a blast. Not because I don’t miss her, of course I do, but because I get some well deserved me time. I don’t see myself as a mama’s girl but then again my closest relationship at the moment is with my mom so I kinda am and it doesn’t help my situation that my brother is far away in the US as that leaves me holding the fort here like an only child.lol!

My friend/sister/co-worker, Tola, thinks I’m crazy cos I said I would be home alone for Christmas. She feels sorry for me and thinks it’s a sad way to spend the day-bless her heart! I, on the contrary, think the best way to spend this Christmas is doing just what I’m doing – reflecting on the past and making achievable plans for the future. I’ve done some stupid and childish things this year but I believe that part of growing up is realising that you’ve done something stupid and learning from the experience. Life gives you only two options – you either grow up and do what you need to do or stay young and do what you want to do. It’s not rocket science, we all know which option is better.

I had an epiphany recently, when I remembered a piece of advise I once heard my mom give. We had just finished morning devotion and she explained to a young woman who had led us in prayers that she could not continue to pray for a university admission when she had not taken the required exams (WAEC and JAMB) to obtain one. In other words, do your part and God will do the rest.

Today marks a new beginning for me. I have resolved to grow up, to learn from past mistakes and make good decisions in the future, to not just wait for my situation to change but make it change by doing what needs to be done and to take a leap of faith.

May we all keep our resolutions.

Happy Holidays everyone!
xoxo

2 thoughts on “Growing up…

  1. I realised one of our major issues is our inability to look ourselves in the mirror & confront the truth; sincere soul searching without denial; taking responsibility for our actions and inactions.
    Your Mom is right we suddenly forget the difference between Magic & the Miraculous! Godspeed with all your plans & dreams!!

Leave a Reply

