black-woman-on-scale

I’ve been a UK size 12 for as long as I can remember. I now weigh 64.5 kg. That doesn’t seem like a huge drop from my previous weight of 67.5kg but I think it’s a noble feat.

Contrary to what people (eg: Leticia, http://www.ticiatowns.blogspot.com/2013/11/be-warned-dieting-is-not-mocked.html#more) think, I’m not a diet freak. I just think that I should eat healthier and have thus chosen wheat as my companion on the path to a healthier me. I make 2 meals every evening, to take to work the next day. Breakfast is usually a cup of tea and a tuna sandwich made with wheat bread and for lunch brown rice, brown pasta or basmati rice are key players. On occasion, I cook regular long grain white rice and regular pasta so you can see that I am in no way a diet freak….@Leticia, take note! 😉

I watch a number of food channels to learn new recipes and Google is helpful when it comes to finding substitutes for hard to find ingredients or just an easier recipe. Here are a few of my favourite recipes:

Breakfast: Tuna Sandwich

TheUltimateTunaSandwich

Ingredients

Store bought or homemade wheat bread

1 tin Tuna Flakes or chunks (John West brand comes out better than Starkist brands)

1 or 2 generous tablespoons of Mayonnaise

1 tablespoon of wholegrain mustard

1 small onion (finely chopped)

2 firm tomatoes (sliced in rings)

Lettuce (or spinach)

Salt and pepper to taste

Preparation Instructions

Open the can of tuna and drain the water or oil. Put the tuna in a bowl and add a generous tablespoon of mayonnaise, a tablespoon of wholegrain mustard and finely chopped onion. Mix to combine then season with salt and pepper.

Lightly butter the insides of two slices of wheat bread (use unsalted butter or I can’t believe it’s not butter butter or any of your favourites-you ought to live a little right?!lol)

Build the sandwich with a leaf or two of lettuce on the buttered base slice, tomato slices and a dollop of the tuna mixture on top (spread evenly across)

Close the sandwich by adding the other bread slice on top of everything (butter side down).

For that additional oomph factor, grill the sandwich for a few minutes with an electric or stove top grill.

Slice sandwich in half and serve.

One option for lunch: Spaghetti and Meatballs

spaghetti-and-meatballs

Ingredients

For the meatballs:

1 store bought pack of minced meat

4 cloves of Garlic (grated)

1 medium-sized onion (grated)

1 egg (beaten)

Breadcrumbs (regular or wholemeal)

Salt and pepper

2 cooking spoons of oil for frying

For the tomato sauce:

Left over oil from frying the meatballs

1 large onion (chopped)

8 – 10 medium sized tomatoes (chopped)

2 large red bell peppers (chopped)

2 chilli peppers (chopped) or a few table spoons of your favourite sweet chilli

2 tablespoons of tomato puree

Preparation Instructions

For the meatballs, combine meat, garlic, onions, eggs, salt, pepper and breadcrumbs in a mixing bowl. Mix well with hands and roll into one and a half inch balls and place on a clean plate or tray.

Heat the oil in a frying pan and brown the meatballs on one side over medium – high heat then turn to the other side and brown. Drain the browned meatballs with on a paper towel or in a sieve over a bowl.

Transfer the used oil to a saucepan and add the chopped onion. Cook till translucent then add a crushed cube of Maggi or any other bouillon cube. Add tomato puree and stir fry for a few minutes. Add chopped vegetables, stir to combine and cook covered over medium heat for 15 minutes. Add meatballs and stir gently. Reduce the heat to a simmer, cover pan and cook for 15 minutes, stirring gently a couple of times during the simmer.

Serve over your preferred brand of cooked spaghetti.

Another option for lunch: Potato Salad

Moms-Classic-Potato-Salad_15_mini

Ingredients

5 – 8 medium sized Irish potatoes, peeled and cut into 1inch thick pieces.

2 hard boiled eggs cut into chunks

1 small finely chopped onion

1 medium cucumber, peeled, most seeds removed, coarsely chopped

1 generous tablespoon of mayonnaise

1 tablespoon of wholegrain mustard

Salt and pepper, to taste

Preparation Instructions

Put potatoes in a medium saucepan and cover with water. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, cover, and simmer for about 15 minutes, or just until potato chunks are fork tender. Drain and let cool.

In a large bowl, combine the cooled potatoes, chopped eggs, onion, celery, cucumber, and sour cream. Add about 3/4 cup mayonnaise and salt and pepper, to taste. Stir gently to blend ingredients. Add more mayonnaise, if desired.

Another great breakfast option is the multi cereal croissant from Delifrance.

S7095-250

These tasty croissants are partially baked in France, flash frozen (I presume!) and then shipped to your local retailer. In Abuja, I buy them fully baked in the Supermarket at Dunes Center and in Lagos, Goodies Supermarket.

Disclaimer: I am not a photographer. I’ve tried several times to take pictures of meals from my kitchen but the pictures never look as good as I’d want them to so I got these pictures off the internet. Trust me, my meals look exactly like what you see in the pictures. Also, I am not following any particular diet plan. I just always try (emphasis on try!) to choose the healthier option when selecting meals.

xoxo

10 thoughts on “My weight loss regimen…

  1. Ok who says loosing weight is easy! I mean having to change my regular diet to brown rice(not sweet long grain white rice) Wheeew but I shall indulge in the pasta recipe it sounds delish!!! Thank you nike

  2. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be actually something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and extremely broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, Ill try to get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

