I now pronounce you man and wife‘….

wedding

This past weekend, I travelled for 13 hours from Abuja to Ilorin – 13 hours for a journey that should have taken 6 hours – to attend my little cousin’s wedding. Suffice to say, I missed the traditional wedding but I got to watch her exchange wedding vows with her husband – ok, I actually wasn’t in church to witness the joining (was busy behind the scenes-big sister things) , but I heard the gist and I know that the bride, groom and the parents of the groom sobbed for joy while the vows were being said.

I’ve been to more weddings than I can count this year. Just a few days ago, I was chatting with an old flame and he informed me that he is getting hitched. I was very surprised ‘cos he’s just a year shy of thirty. Then yesterday, I saw a friend’s update on bbm. He’s getting married in November. I pinged him to say congratulations and he replied, informing me that he was on his way to a mutual friend’s wedding, another guy under 30 years. I’m attending yet another wedding this weekend. The groom is 28 and the bride is 23.

It has got me thinking that there has to be something to this marriage thing that everyone is buying into. Something that has guys popping the question left, right and centre and something that has babes saying ‘Yes’ to the possibility of being their current boo’s wife. There is nothing fundamentally wrong with getting hitched in your twenties but I find it hard to believe that a guy under 30 is really really really ready to take the plunge into holy matrimony. This is my point of view, go figure!

Hoping to understand this marriage trend, I’ve made a list of 10 possible benefits of getting hitched.

Benefit 1: You have a partner in ‘crime’. Whether it be in setting up a business, gossiping about the neighbours or bringing up the kids, you have someone to share the load with.

Benefit 2: You always have a date to dinners, parties and social gatherings. No more standing alone wondering who to start a conversation with.

Benefit 3: You have a shoulder to cry on. Be it after a bad day at work or after hearing bad news, there’s someone to pat your back and say ‘There there…don’t cry’.

Benefit 4: You have someone to go splitsies with bills. The house rent is the man’s responsibility though. We can split the cost of a basket of tomatoes 😉

Benefit 5: You have a ‘sexy time’ partner for life. Need I say more? 😀

Benefit 6: You have someone to share ideas with and prevent you from making avoidable mistakes . ‘No honey, tucking in that torn shirt into your pants doesn’t hide the tear‘.

Benefit 7: You have someone to snuggle up with on cold nights. Move over teddy bear!

Benefit 8: You have a prayer partner for life. The bible says that whenever two of you on earth agree on anything you pray for, it will be done for you by my Father in heaven.

Benefit 9: Your have your very own cheerleader. When you receive the promotion you’ve been waiting for, when you’ve been cooking up a storm all day in the kitchen, when your mother inlaw comes to visit, you have someone to pat you on the back and say ‘Well done!’ or ‘Great job!’.

Benefit 10: You have someone to show off, and be proud of, at family functions, office dinners or even an ex boys’ meeting. And what better way to show off than having your spouse all dolled up, ready to impress and rubbing your happy marriage, intentionally or unintentionally, in the faces of your single and unhappily married friends.

I’m sorry to say that even if I were in a relationship, none of these benefits would have me eyeing ‘le boo‘, wondering when he’ll pop the question. I think I’m a bit too unserious to make such a life altering decision at the moment. Anyways, to those who have made the decision, Happy Married Life! May you experience all these benefits and more.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

